CBS What's Happening

Top Louisiana Headlines

News Center

How three states are moving to protect abortion rights after the fall of Roe v. Wade

Kevin Dietsch/Getty Images

(NEW YORK) -- A week after the U.S. Supreme Court voted to strike down Roe v. Wade, ending a nearly 50-year precedent, several governors are moving to protect abortion rights in their states.

On Friday, New York is expected to pass a constitutional amendment guaranteeing access to abortion during a special session initially called to rewrite state gun permit laws in t...

More Stories

Marvel's newest star, Aramis Knight, talks playing 'Ms. Marvel''s Red Dagger

Marvel Studios

Actor Aramis Knight made his debut in Wednesday's fourth episode of Disney+'s Ms. Marvel, and his team up with the show's title character, played by Iman Vellani, was an instant hit with fans. 

Knight plays Kareem, a masked vigilante crime fighter and one of the mysterious group of Pakistan-based heroes known as the Red Daggers. 

A visit to her grandmother's native Karachi to st...

More Stories

New listeria outbreak linked to Florida leaves one dead, 23 total infected

Sebastian Kaulitzki/Science Photo Library/Getty Images/Stock

(NEW YORK) -- One person in Illinois died after being infected with listeria, in a new outbreak that has infected a total of 23 people across 10 states, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said. The CDC said all but one of those infected were hospitalized.

Listeria is an illness that typically affects pregnant women, newbor...

More Stories

Russia-Ukraine live updates: Biden announces $800M more in aid

GENYA SAVILOV/AFP via Getty Images

(NEW YORK) -- Russian President Vladimir Putin's "special military operation" into neighboring Ukraine began on Feb. 24, with Russian forces invading from Belarus, to the north, and Russia, to the east. Ukrainian troops have offered "stiff resistance," according to U.S. officials.

The Russian military has since launched a full-scale ground offensive in eastern...

More Stories

Workplace inaccessibility is keeping disabled people from jobs

Courtesy Melissa Gates

(NEW YORK) -- Melissa Gates, who is physically disabled and uses a cane or scooter to move around, was actively searching and applying for a federal job. It took her 20 years before she finally received a position as a secretary for NASA.

She said she wanted the stability and the health care benefits that were likely to come from a government job. And she did everything s...

More Stories

Scoreboard roundup -- 6/30/21

(NEW YORK) -- Here are the scores from Thursday's sports events:

MAJOR LEAGUE BASEBALL

AMERICAN LEAGUE
Cleveland 5, Minnesota 3
Houston 2, NY Yankees 1
Toronto 4, Tampa Bay 1
Seattle 8, Oakland 6

NATIONAL LEAGUE
Philadelphia 14, Atlanta 4
Pittsburgh 8, Milwaukee 7
Chi Cubs 15, Cincinnati 7
LA Dodgers 3, San Diego 1

WOMEN'S NATIONAL BASKETBALL ASSOCIATION
Atlanta 92, New York 81 (OT)

MAJOR ...

More Stories

Concert & Entertainment Calendar

Marc Broussard

L'Auberge Casino & Hotel Baton Rouge

777 L'Auberge Avenue
Baton Rouge, LA 70820

Fri, Jul 1, 9:00 PM

Daughtry (21+)

Grand Event Center - Golden Nugget Lake Charles

2550 Golden Nugget Blvd
Lake Charles, LA 70601

Sat, Jul 2, 8:00 PM

Lil Baby with Lil Boosie

Cajundome

444 Cajundome Blvd.
Lafayette, LA 70506

Sat, Jul 2, 8:00 PM

Trolls LIVE! - Lake Charles

Lake Charles Civic Center Arena

900 Lakeshore Dr
Lake Charles, LA 70601

Tue, Jul 5, 6:00 PM

Robert Earl Keen

Shreveport Municipal Memorial Auditorium

705 Elvis Presley Avenue
Shreveport, LA 71101

Wed, Jul 6, 8:00 PM

Rodney Carrington

L'Auberge Du Lac Casino Lake Charles

777 Avenue LAuberge
Lake Charles, LA 70601

Fri, Jul 8, 8:00 PM

Cenla Sports Schedule

 

 

 

Sports Schedule

 

Friday 06/10/22

NBA Finals Game 4

Golden State @ Boston 7p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Saturday 06/11/22

Astros vs Miami 2:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Sunday 06/12/22

Astros vs Miami 12:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Monday 06/13/22

Tiger Talk 4 – 6p 96.9 KZMZ

NBA Finals Game 5

Boston @ Golden State 7p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Tuesday 06/14/22

Astros @ Texas 6:35p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Wednesday 06/15/22

Astros @ Texas 12:35p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Thursday 06/16/22

NBA Finals Game 6

Golden State @ Boston 7p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Friday 06/17/22

Astros @ Chicago WS 6:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Saturday 06/18/22

Astros @ Chicago WS 2:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Sunday 06/19/22

Astros @ Chicago WS 12:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

NBA Finals Game 7 (if needed)

Boston @ Golden State 6p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

 

Monday 06/20/22

Tiger Talk 4 – 6p 96.9 KZMZ

 

Tuesday 06/21/22

Astros vs NY Mets 6:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Wednesday 06/22/22

Astros vs NY Mets 12:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Thursday 06/23/22

Astros @ NY Yankees 5:35p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Friday 06/24/22

Astros @ NY Yankees 5:35p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Saturday 06/25/22

Astros @ NY Yankees 11:35p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Sunday 06/26/22

Astros @ NY Yankees 11:35p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Monday 6/27/22

Tiger Talk 4 – 6p 96.9 KZMZ

 

Tuesday 6/28/22

Astros @ NY Mets 5:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Wednesday 6/29/22

Astros @ NY Mets 5:10p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Thursday 6/30/22

Astros vs NY Yankees 4:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Friday 7/01/22

Astros vs LA Angels 6:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Saturday 7/02/22

Astros vs LA Angels 2:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am

 

Sunday 7/03/22

Astros vs LA Angels 12:40p ESPN 94.7fm / 1410am